Online Now 288

Tavon Named Special Teams POY

Austin brings a punt return back against TCU.

For the first time ever, the Big12 Conference will have two Special Teams Players of the Year.

Last season's winner, Oklahoma State kicker/punter Quinn Sharp, and West Virginia return man Tavon Austin were named Co-Special Teams Players of the Year this morning.

Austin was an electric returner for the Mountaineers this season, finishing second in the Big 12 in punt return yardage (165) and kick return yards (738). He was also the only player to return one of each for a touchdown, bringing a 76-yard punt and a 100-yard kickoff back for a score.

Sharp made 25-of-31 field goals this season, while averaging 45.8 yards per punt for the Cowboys.

Already have an account? Sign In